A Russian-speaking photo dealer walked into BUiLDiNG CHARACTER and the rest is history

FEATURED VENDOR: Fotographiya

Erin Waters, owner of Fotographiya, brings her fair share of originality to BC.

Fotographiya specializes in vintage photography including snapshots, portraits, tintypes, and cabinet cards. You could spend hours rummaging through the vintage and beautifully preserved fotographs in her shop.  Her photos range from cute-and-quirky family photos to vintage postcards to down right creepy portraits. Waters’ shop has a timeless aura about it. Even if collecting photography isn’t your thing, checking out her vintage collection is certainly a must while at BC.

;k

How long have you been with BUiLDiNG CHARACTER?

Since August 2013

What type of items do you sell at your booth?

I am a professional photography dealer, so I primarily sell vintage photographs. I try to stock a variety of images like snapshots, cabinet cards, and tintypes at reasonable prices. I also have framed images ready to hang in a home, both in their original frames and in new ones. I also sell a line of new gift items created from vintage mug shots — coasters, cards, journals, and magnets. Also in my shop are photo albums, both empty and full of snapshots. I also have a selection of ephemera like advertising cards and Victorian scrap. Lately I’ve been making note cards made from vintage photographs as well as collages on larger canvases. My goal is to have something for everyone — decorators, artists, collectors, and people who just need a gift for a friend.

Your favorite thing about being a vendor/seller at BUiLDiNG CHARACTER?

Being part of a great store!

What made you want to start your craft/hobby/collection?

I’ve been living with vintage photos since I was a kid. My dad has collected daguerreotypes for nearly 30 years and while it took me a while to decide to join him and my brother as a dealer, it was pretty much inevitable. I’ve collected photographs since I was a little kid and until 6 years ago, I always was a dealer, just not full-time. I have a museum studies degree from NYU but while studying, I realized that what I really wanted to do was be a professional photography dealer.

 What other hobbies do you have?

I am an avid reader and co-run the Second Sunday Book Club here in Lancaster. I love to travel and take photos when I do.  I probably watch a bit too much TV. I love to swim. One of my favorite things to do is search for photos. Luckily, that’s what I do for a living.

Three interesting facts about you? 

I speak fluent Russian and lived in Yaroslavl, Russia for 2 years.

My favorite sport to play is water polo although I haven’t done that in years.

I am on the board of the Daguerreian Society.

If you could transport yourself to back to any time era, what year would it be? (or what is your favorite era of items to collect?)

Mid to Late Victorian. Of course, that’s when photography was invented. Whenever there is indoor plumbing, actually. Anything else is a deal breaker.

handsomboatskunkfotographyia

 

Leave a Reply

